New England Council of Latin American Studies

The Call for Paper and Panel Proposals for the 2017 NECLAS Annual Meeting at the University of New Hampshire on November 4th is available HERE

The 2017 NECLAS Prize Guidelines are available HERE

NECLAS Membership Registration/Renewal will become available in March 2017


The New England Council of Latin American Studies adopted its Constitution on November 14, 1970. It now has a membership list of over 500 scholars from 49 institutions. 

The Council sponsors an annual meeting once a year each fall.

The Council awards the following annual prizes:

  • The Marysa Navarro Best Book Prize
  • The Joseph T. Criscenti Best Article Prize
  • The Best Dissertation Prize,
  • The Best Translation Prize (for the best book translated into English)
  • The Best Multimedia Prize

Past meetings have been held at:

1993 Brown University

1994 Harvard University

1995 Dartmouth College

1996 Williams College

1997 Mount Holyoke College

1998 Wellesley College

1999 Yale University

2000 Amherst College

2001 Salem State College

2002 College of the Holy Cross

2003 Dartmouth College

2004 Boston University

2005 Bowdoin College

2006 Middlebury College

2007 Mount Holyoke College

2008 Brown University

2009 Union College

2010 University of Connecticut, Storrs

2011 Dartmouth College

2012 Yale University

2013 Wheaton College

2014 Connecticut College

2015 Tufts University